12 Years A Slave

We have just recently finished up reading the book 12 Years A Slave, and I thought it was about time I wrote about it. I’m not going to lie it wasn’t my favorite book of all time, or by far the most interesting, but it was very eye opening. You hear about slavery in school, but you never really go into the gruesome details about how badly some of these people were treated. It’s really shocking actually to see how a person can be so unexpectedly torn from his family and thrown into a new life full of hardships, labor, and cruel treatment for 12 whole years. I will never understand why people thought it was okay to degrade and undermine a whole population of human beings, just like themselves, because of the color of their skin. I’m a little nervous to watch the movie because I know it will make me very emotional and honestly be a little hard to watch.

6 thoughts on “12 Years A Slave

  1. lmg1020 says:

    I’ve never read this book, but I appreciate your honest review!

    I’m your mentor for the blogging challenge. Were you planning on participating in this week’s challenge? If so, I’d love to see what you have to say about Creative Commons!

    Like

  2. lmg1020 says:

    Make sure you are completing the required activities for the blogging challenge so far- the creative commons activities and the page/post about commenting. You already have your About Me

    Like

  3. BethCTech says:

    What your mentor is trying to say is if you don’t have all blogging challenge activities done, you will be unenrolled in the challenge (and will lose the opportunity to have extra credit.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

